Home   About   Timeline   The Book

Selection Committee


Greatest Engineering Achievements of the 20th Century Selection Committee members with their affiliations at the time of the selection process.

Harold M. Agnew
Retired President, General Atomics; Past Director, Los Alamos National Laboratory; Member of team that developed the first nuclear fission chain reaction

Frances E. Allen
IBM Fellow; Contributor to the development of computer compilers

Neil A. Armstrong
Commander, Gemini 8 and Apollo 11 missions; First person to walk on the moon

Norman R. Augustine
Chairman, Executive Committee, and Former President and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation

William F. Ballhaus, Sr.
Former President, Beckman Instruments, Inc.

David P. Billington
Professor of Civil Engineering and Operations Research, Princeton University; Author

Frederick H. Dill
Senior Technical Officer, IBM Research Center; Pioneer in microelectronics technology

Essex E. Finney, Jr.
Retired, Agriculture Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture; Expert on management and policy issues related to agricultural research and development

George M. C. Fisher
Chairman and CEO, Eastman Kodak Company; Former Chairman and CEO, Motorola, Inc.

John H. Gibbons
Former Assistant to President Clinton for Science and Technology; Former Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Daniel S. Goldin
Director, NASA; Pioneer in advanced space communications and electronics

Ronald E. Goldsberry
Vice President, Global Service Business Strategies, Ford Motor Company

Mary L. Good
Former Under Secretary for Technology, U.S. Department of Commerce; Venture capitalist

Irwin M. Jacobs
Chairman and CEO, QUALCOMM, Inc.

Jack E. Little
Former President and CEO, Shell Oil Company

Robert W. Lucky
Retired Corporate Vice President, Applied Research, Telcordia Technologies, Inc.; Inventor of the adaptive equalizer, a technique for correcting distortion in telephone signals used in high-speed data transmission

Rear Admiral John B. Mooney, Jr.
U.S. Navy, Retired; Former Chief, Office of Naval Research; Consultant

William J. Perry
Former Secretary of Defense

Henry Petroski
Professor of Civil Engineering, Duke University; Author of several books, including To Engineer is Human, The Evolution of Useful Things, and Engineers of Dreams: Great Bridge Builders

Alan Schriesheim
Former Director and CEO, Argonne National Laboratory

William E. Splinter Director, Larsen Tractor and Power Museum, University of Nebraska; Inventor and developer of agricultural

 technologies, including safer aerial spray systems and improved harvesting systems

H. Guyford Stever (Committee Chair)
Former Science Advisor to President Ford; Former President, Carnegie Mellon University; Former Director, National Science Foundation

Ivan E. Sutherland
Vice President and Sun Fellow, Sun Microsystems, Inc.

Paul E. Torgersen
President, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Charles H. Townes
Professor, University of California, Berkeley; Inventor of maser and laser; Nobel Laureate

Charles M. Vest
President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John T. Watson
Deputy Director, Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, National Institutes of Health

James C. Williams
Honda Professor of Materials, Ohio State University; Pioneer in materials research and aerospace alloys

Wm. A. Wulf
President, National Academy of Engineering


     Selection Process

Copyright © 2019 National Academy of Sciences on behalf of the National Academy of Engineering.

Privacy Statement. DMCA Policy. Terms of Use.

Printer-Friendly Version. Text-Only Version. Contact Us.